Skip to content Skip to navigation

Reach Out to Current Students

These students are featured on our Instagram Takeover for the month of April (@theblackhousesu). Please feel free to reach out to them. They are super excited to meet the incoming Class of 2024 and answer any questions you may have!

Kayla Williams

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Brooklyn, NY
What I Study: Political Science, Data Science, and Middle Eastern Languages 
Ask Me About: The Caribbean community, working at the Black House, the Black Student Union, the transition from New York/East Coast
Stanford Email: willik22@stanford.edu  

Mohammad Gumma

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Anaheim, CA
What I Study: Human Biology
Ask Me About: First Gen/Low Income, pre-med, volunteering abroad, being Muslim/halal dining, ethnic theme dorms
Stanford Email: mgumma@stanford.edu

Celine Foster

Year: Junior
Hometown: West Bloomfield, MI
What I Study: Science, Technology, and Society
Ask Me About: Black Greek Life, activism, Stanford Women in Business, mental health
Stanford Email: celinefo@stanford.edu

Leya Elias

Year: Junior
Hometown: San Francisco, CA
What I Study: Political Science, Psychology
Ask Me About: First Gen/Low Income, being local, internships abroad, pre-law, the Ethiopian/Eritrean community
Stanford Email: lelias21@stanford.edu

Devia Terry

Year: Junior
Hometown: Philadelphia, PA
What I Study: Urban Studies & Urban Education
Ask Me About: First Gen/Low Income, working at the Black House, transition from the East Coast
Stanford Email: devia@stanford.edu

Tamilore Awosile

Year: Frosh
Hometown: London, England
What I Study: Undecided but interested in International Relations and Computer Science
Ask Me About: Being international, participating in the Ernest Houston Johnson Scholars (EHJS) program, Stanford African Students Association (SASA), living in Ujamaa
Stanford Email: tawosile@stanford.edu

Nazjaa Hughson

Year: Frosh
Hometown: Atlanta, GA
What I Study: Psychology
Ask Me About: Research, food on campus, time management, YouTube
Stanford Email: nazjaa@stanford.edu

John Okhiulu

Year: Junior
Hometown: Oakcliff, Dallas, TX
What I Study: Human Biology and African and African American Studies (AAAS)
Ask Me About: Pre-med, Talisman (a cappella), The Phoenix Scholars program, NAIJA
Stanford Email: johnok21@stanford.edu

Engu Fontama

Year: Frosh
Hometown: Seattle, WA
What I Study: Management Science & Engineering
Ask Me About: DV8 Dance team, social entrepreneurship, Blackprint, EHJS
Stanford Email: engu@stanford.edu

Sheck Mulbah

Year: Senior
Hometown: Harlem, NY
What I Study: Political Science Major, African and African American (AAAS) Minor
Ask Me About: DJing, working at the bike shop, finance internships, Black Greek Life
Stanford Email: smulbah@stanford.edu

Sequoiah Hippolyte

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Denver, CO
What I Study: African and African American (AAAS) Major, Film Studies Minor
Ask Me About: Queer life on campus, mental/physical health, spirituality, imposter syndrome
Stanford Email: sequoiah@stanford.edu

Sean Howard

Year: Senior
Hometown: Dallas, TX
What I Study: International Relations Major, Management Science and Engineering Masters
Ask Me About: Black Greek Life, Finance/business clubs, Theatre directing, study abroad (Spain, Ghana)
Stanford Email: snhoward@stanford.edu

Gracemary Nganga

Year: Frosh
Hometown: St. Louis, MO
What I Study: Human Biology
Ask Me About: Pre-med, the Phoenix Scholars program, SCOPE, the Leland Scholars program, being Christian on campus, academic support
Stanford Email: gracemar@stanford.edu

Micheal Brown

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Houston, TX
What I Study: Political Science Major, French Minor
Ask Me About: Student government, working at the Black House, Lathrop Library Tech Desk Consultant, Pre-Law, Poli Sci research
Stanford Email: mbrown83@stanford.edu

Arafat Mohammed

Year: Junior
Hometown: Accra, Ghana
What I Study: Computer Science and African Studies
Ask Me About: Stanford Mint, Society of Black Scientist & Engineers (SBSE), Afrobeats dance group, fashion
Stanford Email: arafatm@stanford.edu

Tyah-Amoy Marie Roberts

Year: Frosh
Hometown: West Palm Beach, FL
What I Study: Political Science
Ask Me About: March for Our Lives, living in Ujamaa frosh year, Stanford WYSE
Stanford Email: tyahr23@stanford.edu

Norris Johnson

Year: Frosh
Hometown: Washington, D.C.
What I Study: Undecided
Ask Me About: Design, queer life on campus, intramural sports
Stanford Email: njohn25@stanford.edu

Dayonna Tucker

Year: Senior
Hometown: Harvey, IL (Chicago)
What I Study: African and African American Studies with Honors
Ask Me About: the Committee on Black Performing Arts (CBPA), creative writing, research grants, costume design
Stanford Email: dtucker2@stanford.edu

Mekhi Jones

Year: Senior
Hometown: Cincinnati, OH
What I Study: Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence
Ask Me About: the Phoenix Scholars, Black Men's Forum, Bhangra, entrepreneurship
Stanford Email: mekhi@stanford.edu

Bibiche Keza

Year: Junior
Hometown: Kigali, Rwanda
What I Study: Politica Science / International Relations Major, African Studies Minor
Ask Me About: being an international student, Center for African Studies, where to get your hair done
Stanford Email: kezal@stanford.edu

Munira Alimire

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Rochester, MN
What I Study: Urban Studies and Anthropology
Ask Me About: student organizing, photography, skateboarding, being Muslim at Stanford
Stanford Email: amunira@stanford.edu

Seneca Friend

Year: Senior
Hometown: Elkridge, MD
What I Study: Electrical Engineering
Ask Me About: SBSE (Society of Black Scientists and Engineers), Women's rugby, Black Campus Ministries
Stanford Email: sfriend3@stanford.edu

Kory Gaines

Year: Junior
Hometown: Washington, D.C.
What I Study: African and African American Studies, Political Science
Ask Me About: political action in the Black Student Union, HAAS fellowships, being FLI and queer on campus
Stanford Email: kgaines8@stanford.edu

Joddy Nwankwo

Year: Sophomore
Hometown: Boston, MA
What I Study: Anthropology (Emphasis in Medical Anthropology)
Ask Me About: Pre-med, NAIJA and SASA, Stanford travel, BSU Admit Weekend Committee
Stanford Email: jnwank18@stanford.edu